Authors and Stakeholders

Lead Expert Group

The development of the second Foresight Report is undertaken by a team of experts, the Lead Expert Group (LEG), which is comprised of eight individuals with notable expertise in one or more of the areas relevant to the report, such as food systems, agriculture, nutrition, sustainability, economics, as well as political economy and governance.

Its members are:

  • Benton

    Professor, Population Ecology, School of Biology; Research Director for Energy, Environment and Resources, Chatham House; UK Champion for Global Food Security.

Prof Tim Benton


  • Patrickwebb3

    Professor, Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy; Director for USAID’s Feed the Future Nutrition Innovation Lab.

Prof Patrick Webb


  • Berdegue2

    Assistant Director-General and Regional Representative for Latin America and the Caribbean, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

Dr Julio Berdegué

Group member

  • Fanzo

    Jessica Fanzo PhD is the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Ethics and Global Food and Agriculture in the Berman Institute of Bioethics and the School of Advanced International Studies at Johns Hopkins University.

Prof Jessica Fanzo

Group member

  • Haddad

    Executive Director, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition.

Dr Lawrence Haddad

Group member

  • 4386f87b6abfdaed70ff14fcc21ad477 Medium

    Principle Research Scientist, Planetary Health, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health; Director, Planetary Health Alliance.

Dr Samuel Myers

Group member

  • Qaim

    Professor, International Food Economics and Rural Development, University of Goettingen.

Prof Matin Qaim

Group member

  • New Bio Pic Resnick[1]

    Senior Research Fellow, Development Strategies and Governance Division (DSGD), International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI).

Dr Danielle Resnick

Group member

  • Marco

    James Martin Fellow, Oxford Martin School, University of Oxford.

Dr Marco Springmann

Group member

High Level Stakeholder Group

A High Level Stakeholder Group (HLSG), chaired by the Global Panel Co-Chair Sir John Beddington, has been convened to provide further strategic and practical advice based on the experience of its members, and to ensure its success through their influence in policy environments.

The members of the HLSG are tasked with ensuring that the focus of the report best reflects the needs of policymakers and the wider stakeholder community.

The HLSG members are:

  • De Cleene 2

    Head of Food System Initiative, Member of Executive Committee, World Economic Forum.

Sean de Cleene

  • Nishtar

    Chairperson, Poverty Alleviation and Coordination Council; Chairperson, Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP).

Sania Nishtar

  • Aboutus Leadership Eng 0417

    Director, Global Health Policy Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan.

Sumi Manabu

  • Mayaki

    CEO, New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD).

Ibrahim Assane Mayaki

  • Branca2

    Director, Dept. of Nutrition and Food Safety in the World Health Organization 

Francesco Branca

  • Lartey

    Director of Nutrition, Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO).

Anna Lartey

  • Voegele

    Senior Director, Agriculture Global Practice, World Bank.

Juergen Voegele

  • Bertram2

    Chief Scientist, USAID’s Bureau for Food Security.

Rob Bertram

  • Cairns

    Director, Food Systems Transformation at World Business Council for Sustainable Development.

Alison Cairns

  • Moir2

    Deputy Director & Head of Human Development, DFID.

Jo Moir